finding joy in the journey

There are many sayings which have been around for a long time and for good reason. The truth of them often slips past unnoticed until one day you see them quite clearly. Like ‘you are what you eat’ and ‘you are what you eat, eats.’ Simple, and yet quite profound.

On Monday I’ll finish a 6 week elimination diet which has consisted almost entirely of bone broth, poached meat, fish and eggs, truckloads of well-cooked low carbohydrate vegetables, some nuts, and lots of fermented foods. I have essentially eaten the same meal, every meal, and every day for 6 weeks. And I chose to do it! Crazy I know…but it’s for gut healing and it’s called the GAPS introduction diet. I went on a candida version of it, which is even more extreme because you can have no sugar at all. Absolutely no sugar…no dairy, no grains, no fruit, no high carbohydrate vegetables, no alcohol, quite a lot of deprivation really. It’s been quite interesting, and this what I’ve learnt so far.

a typical GAPS meal with a tasty almond bread

a typical GAPS meal with a tasty almond bread

About 4 weeks into the gut healing phase, I started to feel quite sad, which is completely out of character for me. I wondered if it was a reaction to a food I had introduced, but I don’t think it was. I thought it might be boredom, but it wasn’t. I have actually enjoyed almost every meal I’ve had – strangely. The problem was that there was something really important missing. There is an enormous amount of joy to be had in food, I have always known that. I’ve always loved food. I have missed eating and drinking with people. I have missed sharing, laughing, loving food. The joy of food was gone, and my joy for life was being sapped away with it. It sounds a bit dramatic I know, because it was for such a short period of time, but that’s what I was feeling.

now I can juice and eat from the garden again and all is well

now I can juice and eat from the garden again and all is well

Here’s the thing. ‘It’s all about balance’. How often do you hear people say that? If you are missing the joy, the potential benefit of any sort of change in your life can be impacted, because mind body balance IS the most important thing. It’s so obvious, but I’ve never restricted myself like this before, so it’s had a huge impact. My gut healing experience has turned out to be an experiment on my psyche as well, and the findings are, that it’s all about balance. A very simple lesson.

Leave a Reply

