best ever grain-free Anzac bickies

image

image

One of my favourite cookbooks as a kid was the Australian Women’s Weekly Big Book of Beautiful Biscuits. Every third Saturday it was my baking morning (I have 2 sisters), and I would scour my Mum’s handwritten recipe books and the Women’s Weekly one for something really scrummy to bake. As long as whatever I chose was relatively practical for a family of 6, AND I cleaned up after myself, I had total freedom to bake whatever I wanted.

This Anzac recipe has been adapted from the traditional one in the Beautiful Biscuits cookbook, to make it grain free. I’ve made a few versions with pure wheat free oats, which were great. I’ve also experimented with just coconut flour, and they were super tasty and moist too, but I think this is an absolute cracker with a smattering of chopped almonds for a bit of extra texture! They ended up quite crunchy and altogether delicious.

Here goes

Grain-free Anzac Biscuits

1 cup of shredded coconut
1/2 cup of rapadura sugar (or any other sugar you prefer)
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup of roughly chopped raw almonds
125g butter
2 tablespoons of golden syrup (or honey, although the golden syrup flavour is what makes it taste “Anzacky” to me)
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
2 tablespoons of boiling water

Combine all dry ingredients. Melt butter and golden syrup over low heat until melted. Mix soda with boiling water and add to melted butter mix. Then stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Take spoonfuls of mix and place on greased tray. Flatten out each bickie. Bake at 150 degrees Celsius for 20 minutes, then cool on a tray. They harden up as they cool. Enjoy!
Makes about 20

image

image

2 thoughts on “best ever grain-free Anzac bickies

  1. Nice – you can’t beat old favourites, they’re classic for a reason! I grew up with this Women’s Weekly cookbook too, although I confess to spending far more time flicking through the pages than actually cooking from it. I like the idea of rotating baking duties for kids – what a great way to learn how to bake.

    • It was a lovely way to feel really grown up in the kitchen. I always helped a lot with regular cooking of weekday evening meals as a kid, because Mum worked full time, which I didn’t mind, but Saturday mornings were a real treat.

Leave a Reply

