slow cooked veal shanks

A few weeks ago I made an oxtail stew which I thought was completely delicious, but unfortunately the kids didn’t agree. They are generally casserole lovers, so today I made osso bucco, or ‘bone with hole’…my eldest wanted a translation. It turned out to be a rich and super tasty casserole which I adapted from Sally Fallon’s Nourishing Traditions, and seeing as though I haven’t actually written anything about slow food yet, I thought I would share. The bonus with this one, was that the kids absolutely loved it.

Osso Bucco with cauliflower mash - I think I need to work on my food photography

Osso Bucco with cauliflower mash – I have definitely gained respect for food stylists today! Will have to work on that.


Slow cooked veal shanks – Osso Bucco my adaption (serves 4)
60g butter
3 carrots
1 leek
1 onion
4 veal shanks
4 cups of beef stock (see below)
2 large garlic cloves – finely chopped
Salt and pepper
Large bunch of fresh thyme
200ml tomato passata or 3-4 chopped tomatoes
2 Tbspns tomato paste
500g chopped pumpkin
1 zucchini grated or greens of choice

Method
Part 1
Melt the butter in a heavy based pan, and sauté chopped onion, leeks and carrots on low heat with lid on pan for about 15 minutes. Remove from pan, brown meat on both sides and then drain browning fat from the pan.

Part 2
Add stock, garlic, meat, thyme and sautéed veges back to pan. Season with salt and pepper and add tomato passata and paste or fresh tomatoes if you have them. Braise with lid on pan for about 90 minutes, then add chopped pumpkin and simmer for another hour or until meat falls off the bone. Add any other vegetables at the end, I added zucchini, but any other greens would be good. The pumpkin mashes in to thicken the sauce beautifully.

This recipe is well suited to a slow cooker or oven. Just place everything into the slow cooker or in an ovenproof dish at part 2. Unfortunately my slow cooker is in constant use making stock at the moment, so I did in on the stove top.

Can be served with any sort of mash or polenta, and more greens on the side if it’s for green loving kids or grown ups.

Simple beef stock in the slow cooker

About a kilo or just over of beef bones (cut open by your butcher)
~10 peppercorns
1/4 cup Organic apple cider vinegar
Filtered water to cover bones

Put it all in the slow cooker. The apple cider vinegar helps to draw the marrow from the bones (is there anything apple cider vinegar doesn’t do?). Let it bubble away for 24 hours and then strain into jars and refrigerate.

5 thoughts on “slow cooked veal shanks

    • Nat, I just realised what you meant when you asked about using the Thermomix for stock. The standard Thermomix stock is a vege purée with salt. For GAPS, the basis of every meal is bone broth or meat stock which is full of minerals and gelatin from the marrow, and it’s highly beneficial for general health and in particular for gut healing. So I try and incorporate it into meals or just drink a cupful each meal. I just had this image of bones banging around in the Thermomix!

  1. Your post is perfect timing for me – I’ve just been thinking about stews as an alternative to soups and this recipe would be ideal 🙂 Using pumpkin as a thickener is a great idea. Thanks!

    • That’s great Nat. Yeah I’m in the same boat, looking for casseroles that the whole family can enjoy. Unfortunately my partner isn’t too keen on ‘stews’ as he calls them but loves curries, so that’s where we are headed.

Leave a Reply

