if you do nothing else – meditate

image

A few years ago, I was gently nudged onto a course through Perth Meditation Centre called ‘The 5 Minute Meditator’, by my book club buddies. You may have read one of my earlier posts, I thought swimming reduced your stress levels . At the time, I was unknowingly in the midst of a stress crisis, and it took this nudge from my friends to set me on my meditation path, to life as it is now.

The meditation technique was simple. Relaxation came within about a minute, through 3 deep and completely mindful breaths. I found myself using it constantly. I needed to use it constantly! As the noise levels in the back of the car peaked, I would slip into meditation mode. The boys would notice a shift in my breathing and ask what I was doing. I was honest. “I’m meditating so that I don’t get upset by you arguing,” or “I’m feeling really stressed right now, and this helps calm me down,” I would say. Then there were the moments where one toddler, occasionally two, would completely lose the plot over the way I’d cut up a piece of food, or something equally as devastating. I would shift my breathing into the deep mindful mode I’d learnt. And it worked! But with little kids, I found that I was almost always emotionally simmering, never far from tipping into stress mode. My quick methods were keeping me sane, but not really solving the deeper issue of my almost permanently raised cortisol levels.

It was also quite difficult for me to accept my reality at that moment. I had to acknowledge that I was a complete stress ball…and I’d never been that person. The image I had of myself was of a chilled out human who could handle pretty much anything. So it took me quite a while to acknowledge that I needed to do more. I essentially had to make the decision to create a daily meditation habit which would become a permanent part of me. It took another few years to really commit. I practiced randomly for a few days here and there when I remembered, or when I was feeling particularly overwhelmed. Then I started putting in place a whole range of other measures to reduce my stress levels, and meditation became a feature most days. I began to notice the impact it had on me, and realised it was the one thing I couldn’t do without. I could go a week or two without doing yoga and I would be fine, but not so with the meditation. It completely shifts how I feel internally. I do feel like a chilled out human a lot of the time now, and I know I can handle most things.

I had a drink with a really good friend the other night who has a super busy life. We had a very practical discussion about how she could factor some stress reducing stuff into her already jammed schedule. I know so many women just like her. So much going on, and this burnt out, can’t budge from the couch feeling every night. And then they can’t sleep very well once they do go to bed. As Sara Gottfreid author of The Hormone Cure calls it ‘tired but wired’. I suggested to my friend that if she could fit in just ONE thing, it should be meditation. We talked about her running an Epsom Salts bath a few times a week, and doing a short 15 minute guided meditation through the Chopra Centre for Meditation while she was bathing. She said it was do-able, not too overwhelming, and I know that once she starts, she will embrace the peace of the meditation bath. What’s not to like?

I sense that in this fast paced world, where we worry so much about toxins in our food and environment, that stress is quite possibly the most toxic thing to our inner and outer health. It’s seems very strange to me, because the solutions to the problem inevitably involve practices which are deeply satisfying and pleasurable. It’s just really hard to find the solution when you’re in the midst of the chaos.

Image courtesy of http://www.flickr.com/photos/stuckincustoms/2919966075/
Linked to With Some Grace for Flog Yo Blog Friday

11 thoughts on “if you do nothing else – meditate

    • It’s just about committing and doing Natty! That’s the hardest bit. We all know how to breathe, but taking it to the next level and making a commitment to yourself to practice mindful focused breathing is the key. Start with just a minute or two. You might have to lock yourself in a cupboard!! My kids know if they see me with earphones in first thing in the morning, that’s what’s happening.

    • Absolutely. Even once you start a regular practice it’s easy to slip. Leo Babauta of Zen Habits once said something along the lines of – “it’s OK to let a habit slip for one day, but not two.” It’s true, you are then letting yourself undo the habit.

  1. Thanks Sonia! Easy to forget the basics of looking after yourself, and yet so lovely to do it! Thanks for stopping by. I absolutely LOVE your blog. My youngest son’s last birthday was catered for entirely using recipes from your blog. It was fantastic.

  2. I don’t think I’m that great at it yet. Sometimes I manage to quieten everything down in my head and sometimes I don’t. Doesn’t seem to matter, it still feels good! I know in Buddhist teachings they say just to acknowledge each thought that comes and then let it drift away…

  3. I love my daily meditation practice. I do it as a relaxation exercise before bed to help me sleep. I would love to start an early morning practice, but find it hard to squeeze it in, but on the day I have … oh so much better my day goes.

Leave a Reply

