the minimalist weekend

image

Every second weekend, it’s just me and the boys. It used to be every fourth weekend when my partner first started working away, and quite often as that fourth Friday approached I would find myself just a little bit sad that we weren’t quite ‘whole’ for those two sacred days at the end of the week.

As they’ve become more frequent, I’ve noticed a real shift in my attitude and as a result, in how those weekends flow. Last weekend we did almost nothing. There were swimming lessons on Saturday morning, and a market trip and visiting some friends briefly on Sunday, but otherwise just peace. There was lots of play, loads of reading, and an enormous amount of freedom in the knowledge that there was nothing that HAD to be done. We slowed so much that everything felt as though it was grinding to a halt…and it was really good. Life in its most simple, uncomplicated greatness.

Dad flies home tonight, and the excitement in the house is already building. There is always a definite holiday buzz which wraps itself cosily around our days here with him. Lots of fun and extra laughter happens, and he also always brings with him an unexplained element of chaos that having an extra adult in the house seems to generate. The house is livelier, louMmder and larger! It can feel so much more intense, and yet peace and harmony often flows just as readily as when he’s not here. It’s unscripted, it’s just as it is. It’s become the balance of who we are as a FIFO family now. Sometimes all together, sometimes not.

Linked with Essentially Jess for IBOT

16 thoughts on “the minimalist weekend

  1. Oh it must be really challenging to be in a FIFO family, although I guess you get used to it. In a positive sense I guess you have the best of both worlds – some alone time and then some family time… but I suspect the balance is hard to get right!

  2. I don’t know how I’d cope being a FIFO family. I love having my husband around as an extra hand with little ones. I bet you have learned to adapt though. I wouldn’t mind a quiet few weekends but that won’t be until the kids are older I suspect. 🙂

  3. It sounds as if you’re doing well as a FIFO fam. I think it might be a good balance and contrast and probably makes you all appreciate each other just that bit more (cliched as that sounds) 🙂

    • That’s very true. There’s been a lot of adapting, and also a bundle of appreciation for what each person brings to the family. I would not be exploring this slow living concept and spending my days writing and finding peace had we been a conventional family. It’s all happened because of our circumstances and it’s been great.

  4. I admire FIFO families. I certainly don’t know how I would do it, but I guess sometimes you don’t have a choice. It would make that time together even more special.

  5. In the early days of my son’s life his dad travelled so much for business interstate and overseas, he was gone between one third – one half of our boy’s first year. It’s not easy! It was okay during the week but the lonely weekends were my worst. It’s nice you can find a way to appreciate it. #teamIBOT

    • It would have been really tough with a baby. It’s nice to be able to share your evenings with a grown up, and also to feel like a complete family on the weekends. You definitely adapt to a different life and appreciate the things you have and the way things are. It just is how it is!

Leave a Reply

