amazing raw pad Thai

My spiraliser in action, making short work of a zucchini.

My spiraliser in action, making short work of a zucchini.


As promised, I’ve been tweaking away at my raw pad Thai recipe for a couple of weeks, and I actually think I’ve got it! My take on the delicious raw pad Thai which is served at the oh so groovy Raw Kitchen in Fremantle Western Australia.

Not the season for raw food I hear you cry, well crank up the heater or head to the northern hemisphere because I have created a really delicious raw version of a Thai classic, and here it is!

Ingredients (serves 2-3 people)

2 medium sized zucchinis cut into noodles using a spiraliser
A small piece of red cabbage (approx 1/4 of a small cabbage) cut into fine strips like coleslaw
Half a small red capsicum cut into fine strips
A handful of snow peas cut into fine strips
2 small carrots grated or cut finely into strips
Half a red chilli chopped finely
A handful of mung bean shoots

Note- there was no chilli in the Raw Kitchen version, but I really like it, so you decide for you.

Sauce

1/4 cup cashew nut butter (blend raw cashews in a high powered blender till it’s butter)
1/4 cup of coconut oil, melted
1/2 fresh red chilli
1 clove of garlic
1 thumb of ginger finely grated
2 kaffir lime leaves deveined and finely chopped
1 Tbspn of tamari
1 tspn of honey
Juice of 1-2 limes
Filtered water

Garnish

A handful of coriander leaves and a few roughly chopped cashew nuts
Lime wedges to serve

Place chopped/spiralised vegetables into large bowl. After you’ve made the cashew nut butter in the blender, add all the other sauce ingredients, except water into the blender. Blitz it all really well together. It does require a bit of tasting and adjustment. I used one lime initially and then felt it needed more so I used another whole lime. I then added enough water to get the consistency of a thick salad dressing which will coat all the vegetables nicely. Once you’ve ‘dressed’ the vegetables, arrange on plates and garnish with roughly chopped cashews and coriander leaves. Serve with wedges of lime. Then enjoy!

Note about vegetable spiralisers. If you are interested in buying one, I would highly recommend the style I have. There are numerous brands for machines which all look and function the same way as mine. There are also smaller cheaper hand held ones which are a lot less clunky looking, but nowhere near as easy to use, or as efficient. The sky is the limit as far as what you can do with vegetable noodles. See Allisandra Maffucci’s beautiful Inspiralized Blog.

Linked with Essentially Jess for IBOT

image

21 thoughts on “amazing raw pad Thai

  1. Thanks Lee-Anne, am so pleased with it. I went back to the Raw Kitchen last Thursday with some friends to help perfect the recipe. It was a really fun little venture. Now I’ll have to start trying to copy some of their other amazing dishes!

  2. That looks amazing but I would need you to come and do all that slicing up…I like the idea of veges instead of noodles!

  3. Yay raw food, as I luckily live in the northern hemisphere – I wish I could move to Australia when we have winter. 🙂 I’ve been thinking about purchasing the spiraliser, but I’m afraid of having just another gadget that clutters my kitchen… I can’t decide! 🙂

    • Oh lucky you right now, summer days! I hear you on the clutter point. And it is a clunky item but I use mine constantly. At the moment I’m using it to put vege noodles in soups and it’s great. Amazingly zucchini noodles stay as noodles even when you cook them a lot in a soup. I thought they would disintegrate.

Leave a Reply

