a woman’s work is never done

The perfect spot for a tea ceremony

The perfect spot for a tea ceremony

I was going to call this post ‘the never ending to-do list’, but as I wrote it down I realised I was just rephrasing an age old adage, which unfortunately and quite annoyingly, still rings true today. Well it does in my house anyway!

I mentioned recently that I’ve rediscovered my love of lists. But in saying that, it’s the interminable nature of domestic to-do lists which drives me a bit crazy. As satisfying as it is to tick things off, my lists are constantly sprouting new life, and I’m back to where I started.

Life has been chaotic, and I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed domestically since our holiday. I just haven’t been able to slip back into the usual rhythm of life after a week of laziness in Bali. It’s upsetting my natural calm, and I don’t really like it. I’m not sure if the women in developing countries experience this phenomena very often, I would suspect not…and just like that, I’ve managed to give myself a kick in the butt and some much needed perspective!

I remember reading somewhere once, that it’s the nature of domestic chores to be never ending. Of course they are. It’s obvious, but sometimes just reminding myself of that, and really accepting it, allows me to fully grasp that if something is never ending, then I can never actually finish. I think I have been trying to finish!

There are so many ways to enjoy every activity in life. Being mindful, keeping yourself in the moment, all of that. But simple acceptance is all it takes. Knowing that the mountain will never be conquered, and that fun, laughter and slowness need to be just as much a part of it as anything else.

Linked with Essentially Jess for IBOT

18 thoughts on “a woman’s work is never done

  1. I used to have massive to do lists that never ended. Then I decided to see what would happen if I stopped using lists. I find these days I’m much calmer. Sometimes the occasional thing slips through the cracks, but not often. If I have a big event to plan for, eg. going on a holiday or a birthday party, or just a particularly busy day, I’ll still do a list. But otherwise ditching them has been an epiphany for me. I was beginning to feel like even ‘fun’ activities were chores because I put them all on my ‘to do’ list side by side.

    • I reckon that whatever makes you calmer, is what you should do! I definitely try and control how much I write on my to-do lists, but coming off the back of a lovely break, everything just got on top of me for a bit there. Not sure why, generally after holidays I feel amazing!

  2. I love my lists. Like you say it will never end (like laundry there will be more added every day lol). Accepting that and pacing myself by doing only a few per day (max) lets me enjoy my life more than I ever have before. And I always find it hard after holidays. I can only imagine how awesome Bali was xxx deb

  3. Every time I see a full laundry basket I think “BUT I JUST DID LAUNDRY!!!!” Talk about never ending! I know perspective is often (always) good and we often need reminding of it but gosh, for once I wish the laundry would literally just DO ITSELF! 🙂 -Aroha (for #teamIBOT)

  4. Good advice. I needed to hear this as I am feeling very overwhelmed with everything I need to do to prepare for my weekend away at Problogger.

  5. Right now I am the COMPLETE opposite of mindful, I have so much to get done before ProBlogger, get my website ready for launch, finish work, write a sponsored post, PACK, eat, cuddles kids! ARGH. Next week I will be mindful I promise!

  6. Here’s to acceptance!! I find that my washing basket is only ever empty for fifteen minutes- but I savour those minutes! I’m a list maker too, and one of my favourite things to do is write things I’ve done at the bottom of the list just to immediately cross them off.

    I really love your perspective and how your words tie in with your title/ A woman’s a work may never be done, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. X

Leave a Reply

