the joy of laughter

my happy place

my happy place

Laughter is the best medicine, we’ve all heard the saying. But laughter is more than just a display of your happiness. Laughter liberates you from negative feelings, and completely transforms your energy, making you feel so good. It changes you at a cellular level in a way that clean living and all of the stress reducing activities in the world just can’t match. Simple laughter. It’s amazing.

For the past few days I’ve been lucky enough to be in Bali again, less than a month after our fabulous family holiday. This trip was with two of my ‘sisters’ from another mister. Two favourite friends I’ve had in my life for over 30 years. It was perfect in so many ways, but one of the things I realised being around these special friends for just a couple of days was that absolutely everything was funny. I had the time to notice the numerous, humorous details of life. There was no stress, no demanding children, absolutely no responsibility…and my response (our response) was to giggle about pretty much anything and everything, and it was absolutely perfect.

The lesson for me, and there’s no surprises here, is to laugh more, stress less…and to do it every single day, preferably with a friend or two!

Linked with Essentially Jess for IBOT

30 thoughts on “the joy of laughter

  1. So jealous michelle. That sounds like perfection. And how funny my post today says laughter is the best medicine too. It truly is xxx deb

  2. Thanks for the reminder about the benefits of laughter. I always hear my children laughing and it seems a pity that as adults we don’t laugh as much! Maybe I just need a holiday in Bali with my besties as well!

  3. Two of my best friends now live close to each other and we often catch up together for a child free lunch and it’s always filled with lots of laughs. The kind of laughter that has people turning their head wondering what all the fuss it about. It’s the best!

  4. I’m going on a cruise with my 3 fave girlfriends in the whole world in December – can’t wait! We don’t get to see each other much these days (have been friends since high school youth group – 30+ years ago now – well ok one of them is my sister so I’ve known her all her life LOL) but when we do we always have a ball. There is nothing like spending time with the gals!

    Visiting today from #teamIBOT xxx

  5. I love those friends you can just laugh and chill with. Sounds like you had the best time. I definitely try to laugh more and stress less these days 🙂

  6. Totally agree Mich, just spent 10 days with 1-7 girlfriends I have known all for over 20 years, very special, not to mention nudie swims at the villa and so much laughter

Leave a Reply

