the challenge of change

my little superstar

my little superstar

Next week I will be posting an interview I did recently with Leo Babauta, the absolute blogging legend behind Zen Habits. Today, here is a bit about change in our house.

I don’t know about other people, but I kind of like the challenge of change. So far the life changes I’ve made have only really impacted upon me, but about 4 weeks ago, I started something which I should have done a long time ago which has impacted on my kids. I have avoided doing it, because of the potential backlash. I just didn’t think it would work.

My eldest son is generally a peaceful, gentle kid, but he can also be really challenging. He gets quite angry, and is also extremely sensitive and emotional. There have been so many times when he has had me pulling my hair out with frustration over really simple things, like shoes…and wearing them, for example.

I am sensitive to gluten, so is one of my siblings, and I have suspected for a long time that he might be too. So I have cut out all of the gluten from his diet, just as a trial (cruel Mum I know). It’s been quite dramatic, but not because of the resistance I thought there would be. Quite the opposite. His dramatic behaviour seems to have tapered right off, and the occasionally angry kid I had, seems to have been replaced with a ridiculously happy one. He says he’s still angry, and then laughs himself silly.

The concept of adaptability is fundamental for people wanting to create new habits in their lives. I have been absolutely amazed by my 6 year olds adaptability. I certainly didn’t give him the credit that I should have for his ability to adapt. In essence, I’ve forced him to make a change which he wouldn’t personally choose. But he trusts me, and he trusts my motives, and now even he’s beginning to notice that he feels happier.

I am so used to making quite radical changes in my life. As an adult it’s easy to understand and want to make change which will improve your life, and yet as adults we are often less adaptable. With kids, well with mine anyway, it seems to be the reverse.

Linked with Essentially Jess for IBOT

20 thoughts on “the challenge of change

  1. Great to hear that your hoped for changes did happen with wonderful result…looking forwards to your interview of this down to earth man who made great changes in his and his family’s life towards simplicity.
    Alexa blogging at Alexa-asimplelife

  2. I have though about experimenting with cutting gluten out of my elddest daughters diet and seeing if it makes a difference to her behaviour. A friend of mine did it with one her sons and she said the change was amazing. Hearing this I think I need to think more seriously about and look in to making it happen. Glad you’ve noticed a big difference and it’s helping.
    (Visiting on behalf of #teamIBOT today x)

    • What’s the worst that can happen Kylie? Just give it a go. I have been doing a lot of raw treats and making sure there’s plenty of protein and vegetables available. That’s the other benefit, you chop out bread and cakes and pasta, then essentially fill their diet with veges and stuff like that which I now don’t think he was eating enough of before. It’s all good.

  3. It’s so easy to think this whole “gluten” thing is a fad/ridiculous etc. but it is really hard to argue the cold hard evidence, isn’t it?? I’m so glad you took the leap and that it paid off. -Aroha

    • Do a trial, it definitely won’t do any harm. It felt easy from a food production perspective for me because I’ve been completely grain free for ages. You just have to really amp up your protein and veges. Try not to get sucked into gluten free processed bread and cake substitutes, because I don’t think they are the best way to nourish your body either.

  4. That’s really fascinating. My two year old’s behaviour is pretty wild at the moment. I’m thinking of cutting a few things out of her diet and seeing how we go. Thanks.

  5. That’s awesome he coped so well.
    I think kids in general are actually pretty great at dealing with the changes we ask of them. It’s more our hesitancy that effects them.
    So glad it’s had a really positive effect for you.

Leave a Reply

