my double chocolate coconut rough energy balls

I’ve been a bit inspired lately by the lovely Nikki at The Wholefood Hub, with all of her lunchbox and snacking ideas. It’s always a struggle for me to come up with new and interesting food for my pair of hungry boys, particularly as we don’t eat much in the ways of grains. I totally understand the nut-free thing at school, but it definitely adds an extra layer of complexity to my job!

I have a definite interest in raw food, perhaps because of its inate simplicity, but also because of its deliciousness. I am also in a long running affair with my Thermomix. (Bah humbug to all of the Thermo-haters out there, I think mine is the bees knees). And the Thermomix does of course lend itself beautifully to raw desserts, which often just need a quick bit of power blitzing. Raw balls or energy balls are the quickest and easiest to make. I fiddle around with recipes all the time. I’m probably just jumbling up the ingredients which are in thousands of other energy ball recipes littering the Internet, but this is a particularly delicious combination. image

My double chocolate coconut rough energy balls

ingredients

1/2 cup of sunflower seeds

1/2 cup of pepitas

1/4 cup of chia seeds

1/2 cup of dessicated coconut

3 Tablespoons of cacao

1 Tablespoons of coconut oil

2 teaspoons of vanilla essence

8 dates

A pinch of salt

A drizzle of maple syrup or honey if the mix is dry or not sweet enough for you

1/4 cup of cacao nibs

and extra dessicated coconut to roll the balls in

method

Blitz the seeds and coconut together. Smile… Add all the remaining ingredients except for the cacao nibs and blitz until mixture starts to clump together. Take a deep breath, inhaling the chocolatey yumminess of it all. Taste. Adjust anything that might be lacking. Mix cacao nibs through the mixture by hand, and then roll into balls. Roll in coconut. Admire your handiwork. Refrigerate the balls for a while. Brew some calming tea, serve in your favourite cup and enjoy with your latest creation.

Linked with Essentially Jess for IBOT

10 thoughts on “my double chocolate coconut rough energy balls

    • The Thermomix is a great tool. People say that food processors are just as good, but having burnt out several of them making curry pastes and grinding harder stuff, I reckon you need the power of the Thermie. Plus they are so easy to clean. I’ve never said that about a food processor. And making balls is great fun. Follow your favourite flavours and just create!

  1. OMG did I thank you for this wee promo! Totally forgot! Reno, business, study and kids = crazy!

    Xndc

    In health and happiness

    Nikki Di Costa e. info@wholefoodhub.com.au p. 0400 884 404 m. PO Box 340 Mount Lawley 6929

    “Start where you are, use what you have, do what you can” – Arthur Ashe

  2. These look delicious. I love chocolate coconut balls but haven’t made them before. Might make this a school holiday activity! Thanks for sharing at the #BlogFairLinkParty

Leave a Reply

