Gallery

my minimalist challenge

Embed from Getty Images

I want to be a minimalist. A real one, not just a pretend one who empties a drawer here, and a shelf there. A fully fledged ditcher, who has no qualms about emptying out all the spaces in and around her home, clearing the way for clarity!

I am already fairly good at keeping things to a minimum. I’ve often described myself as the opposite of a hoarder. Living in a 1950’s house with no storage has turned that into an absolute necessity. But I want to take it even further. I want my space to reflect the simplicity I feel inside of me. I want my home to feel like the ultimate mind clearing sanctuary. Completely uncluttered, unencumbered, full of free floating spaciousness.

On top of all of that, I would love to inspire others to do the same. So I’m going find a friend or perhaps friends who want to join me on a minimalist challenge! I read about the concept earlier this month. It was in a post by Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus, ‘The Minimalists’, called Let’s play a minimalist game together.

The general gist of the game is that on the first day of the month you get rid of one thing, on the second day you get rid of two things, then three things on the third…you get the idea. I LOVE challenges, and because I definitely don’t hoard, I think it could be really challenging. This is the seed I’m planting. Join me if you will! We start June 1.

2 thoughts on “my minimalist challenge

  1. You’re preaching to the choir with me! I love living a minimalist life, since I grew up moving a lot I never accumulated much. I never thought about it until I saw other people’s apartments and homes. I find it so much easier to be creative and calm when my surroundings are simple yet functional. Have fun! I look forward to reading more about your journey!

  2. Hi Mona, and thanks for dropping by from Queens! I just checked out some of your work, and it looks great. I am assuming from the blog switch that you have had some major changes to your diet, as well as wanting to broaden your interests. I hear you about the creativity and peace in minimalist surroundings. My home is not too bad but I know it can be simpler and that’s what I’m after. That peaceful, “there’s nothing here that shouldn’t be here” feeling. Thanks again, Michelle

Leave a comment