Gallery

kombucha mama!

Check out the scoby floating on the top in the jar. It already has a small baby floating underneath it.
Check out the scoby floating on the top in the jar. It already has a small baby floating underneath it.

Tonight I started the second ferment for my first brew of kombucha, and I feel like the proud parent to a little kombucha scoby baby. It’s been a bit of a journey to get to this point. It wasn’t as simple as the water kefir I’ve been making for about 6 months now. There’s a lot to learn. There are quite a few different methods and ideas about how it should be done. But I have managed to find a good source of kombucha information to follow, from The Wellness Mama, and I’ve set up a continuous kombucha system which at the moment will produce 4 litres of probiotic gorgeousness every week. I haven’t been able to keep up with the appetite of my family for fizzy drinks with water kefir, so I am hoping kombucha is just as big a hit. I’ve flavoured every litre I made tonight with something different. Bluberries, lemon, ginger and a mix of lemon and ginger, just to see which flavours work best. Another few days in the cupboard, and it’ll be fizzy, delicious and ready to drink.

Linked to With Some Grace for FYBF

12 thoughts on “kombucha mama!

    1. I can’t remember when I first heard about it. It wasn’t that long ago. A friend wanted to make some I think, and she’s the one who shared some of her scoby with me. I also started seeing (and tasting) commercial ones. There was even an organic juice guy at our local Eco fair who was selling a raw homemade one which was delicious.

  1. Yeah it’s pretty amazing. I heard recently that it is thought that the Korean consumption of kimchi protected the population almost entirely from succumbing to the Asian bird flu epidemic a few years back. There’s definitely something in this whole fermented food theory. It’s definitely fun to make. My kitchen is like a laboratory!!

    1. I must admit the scoby looks pretty disgusting. I separated a baby and gave it to a friend today. It is weird, but I have been tasting the 4 different flavoured bottles I did the second ferment on last weekend and it’s gorgeous!

Leave a comment